Chicken patties with sundried tomatoes and feta cheese!

Svenska här

Minced chicken is quite a bland product, not something that makes a statement by itself… But, that is what makes it perfeckt because you can load it up with all kinds of flavours and the minced chicken accepts it all 🙂

Last week I wanted to make patties with minced chicken and I decided to go all in flavour wise. I loaded the chicken with sundried tomatoes, fetacheese, fresh thyme, lemon zest, garlic and spring onions. And they were delish!!! But I’m sure they would have tasted just as good, or at least nearly, if I would have omitted one or more of the extras, so give them a try even if you don’t have everything on hand!

I like the texture  of the patties when using low carb “bread crumbs“. They are softer and fluffier. I actually allways make a new batch of almondmilk when I’m runing out of bread crumbs, I find them so useful in the kitchen 🙂 But you could try substituting with almond flour instead. Or just omit bread crumbs and water all together. The patties will be a little harder but still perfectly ok!

I used water and concentrated stock as a liquid this time. I wantet to add extra meat flavour with the stock. If I would have had some double cream around the house I would have used it as liquid instead…

Fry the patties on medium heat or just above.

Chicken patties with sundried tomatoes and feta cheese, 4 servings

  • ½ cup, or 1 dl, low carb bread crumbs
  • ½ cup, or 1 dl, water
  • 1 tblsp concentrated stock, flavour of choise
  • 1 egg
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • about ½ cup, or 1 d, shredded sundried tomatoes
  • 1 small bunch fresh thyme, or 1 tblsp dried
  • 3-4 spring onions
  • 5 oz feta cheese (or less)
  • lemon zest from 1 lemon
  • 1 pound, 1 oz, or 500 gr, minced chicken
  • salt and pepper
  • butter or ghee to fry in

Mix “bread crumbs”, water, concentrated stoch and the egg in a mixing bowl.

Slice the spring onions thinly and chop the thyme (I chop the stalks also, there are loads of flavour in them).

Stir spring onions, thyme, sun dried tomatoes, crumbled feta cheese and lemon zest into egg mixture. Chop, press or grate garlic and stir into mixture.

Now stir in minced chicken and salt and pepper. Blend thoroughly.

Now you can fry a small piece of the mixture, taste and adjust flavours if you want to. I was to hungry…

Shape small patties. This is easiest if you wet hands and board with water first.

Fry the patties on both sides in a generous amount of fat on medium heat or just above until they have nice colour and are cooked through.

 

I served my patties with roasted cauliflower, leafy greens, tomatoes and some flavoured butter I had stashed in my freezer. Yum!

Leave a comment